Congressional Transparency Caucus Launched

Today Mike Quigley (D-IL) and Darrell Issa (R-CA) launched a new bipartisan Congressional Transparency caucus.

Quigley’s office has a seven point statement of principles up in .pdf format, laying out some laudable goals, starting from a keystone commitment to make almost all government information “freely available online.”

According to Quiqley’s website, “the following Members have indicated their interest in joining the Caucus to date: Melissa Bean (D-IL), Jason Chaffetz (R-UT), Lloyd Doggett (D-TX), Vern Ehlers (R-MI), Bill Foster (D-IL), Steve Israel (D-NY), Walter B. Jones (R-NC), Jim Jordan (R-OH), Mark Kirk (R-IL), Doug Lamborn (R-CO), Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-MO), Patrick McHenry (R-NC), Walt Minnick (D-ID), Jared Polis (D-CO), Tim Ryan (D-OH), Aaron Schock (R-IL), Mark Souder (R-IN), and Jackie Speier (D-CA).”

That’s an interesting mix, drawing from the liberal and conservative wings of both parties. The cynic in me is obligated to point out that caucus formation is a well-worn P.R. tactic. Still, this bears watching.

Has America ever needed a media watchdog more than now? Help us by joining CJR today.

Clint Hendler is the managing editor of Mother Jones, and a former deputy editor of CJR.