The new endowment also allowed expansion of the television category to include two awards for the first time, one for Spot News/Feature Reporting (twenty minutes or less) and one for In-Depth Reporting (longer than twenty minutes).

Curtis Brainard is the editor of The Observatory, CJR's online critique of science and environment reporting. Follow him on Twitter @cbrainard.