You’re Reading a Winner

CJR takes the Bart Richards Award for Media Criticism

We are happy to report that the Columbia Journalism Review is this year’s winner of the Bart Richards Award for Media Criticism.

Presented annually by the College of Communications at Penn State, the award honors CJR for work in 2009—a trio of cover packages on the dire economic threat to journalism and what might be done about it, and a single piece by Dean Starkman, “Power Problem,” about the performance of the elite business press in the years leading up to the great crash. We invite you to read from the press release. We’re far too modest to quote from it.

But we would like to publicly thank the writers involved:

* In “Do or Die: Journalism’s search for a support system” (March/April)—Charles Sennott, Charles Lewis, Carroll Bogert, Adam Davidson, David Bennahum, Michael Stoll, Peter Osnos, John Yemma, Amanda Michel, and John Harris.

* In “No Free Lunch: How to split the tab for news” (July/August)—Alissa Quart, Peter Osnos, Michael Shapiro, and David Simon.

* In “The Reconstruction of American Journalism (November/December)—Leonard Downie Jr. and Michael Schudson, with Alan Rusbridger, Jan Schaffer, Paul Starr, and Martin Langeveld.

And for the other entry honored in the award, “Power Problem” (May/June)—Dean Starkman, who runs our online business desk, The Audit, as well as the two people who helped him read and classify hundreds of articles to build his formidable critique, former intern Megan McGinley and former staff writer Elinore Longobardi.

We’re also delighted to tell you that we are a nominee in the Best Writing category for an Utne Independent Press Award. Winners will be announced in late April.

We intend to continue our prize-winning, best-writing ways, both online and in print. So, a thought: Why not consider subscribing? You can get a year’s worth of CJR for less than two $10 bills, and support our efforts to boot.

Just click here to subscribe, and thank you.

Has America ever needed a media watchdog more than now? Help us by joining CJR today.

The Editors are the staffers of Columbia Journalism Review.