2014 Pulitzer Prizes announced

Guardian and WaPo win for public service

This year’s Pulitzer Prizes were announced at 3pm on Monday at Columbia University, the final prizes overseen by outgoing administrator Sig Gissler.

Big news events that swept the awards included the NSA revelations, the topic of the double-win in public service, and the Boston Marathon bombings, the topic of both the breaking news reporting and feature photography pieces. There was no Pulitzer awarded this year for feature writing. Glenn Greenwald and Laura Poitras—who were affiliated with the Guardian until they left last fall to help found First Look Media with funder Pierre Omidyar—also received a Polk award this year for their work.

The press release list of journalism Pulitzer winners is copied below:

Public Service: The Guardian US, The Washington Post, for their NSA coverage

Breaking News Reporting: The Boston Globe Staff, for coverage of the Boston Marathon bombings

Investigative Reporting: Chris Hamby of The Center for Public Integrity, Washington, DC

Explanatory Reporting: Eli Saslow of The Washington Post

Local Reporting: Will Hobson and Michael LaForgia of the Tampa Bay Times

National Reporting: David Philipps of The Gazette, Colorado Springs, CO

International Reporting: Jason Szep and Andrew R.C. Marshall of Reuters

Feature Writing: No Award

Commentary: Stephen Henderson of the Detroit Free Press

Criticism: Inga Saffron of The Philadelphia Inquirer

Editorial Writing: Editorial Staff of The Oregonian

Editorial Cartooning: Kevin Siers of The Charlotte Observer

Breaking News Photography: Tyler Hicks of The New York Times

Feature Photography: Josh Haner of The New York Times

Has America ever needed a media watchdog more than now? Help us by joining CJR today.

The Editors are the staffers of Columbia Journalism Review.